

Whereas, Arbor Day is nationally recognized on the last Friday in April and is observed throughout the nation and world and is an annual observance that celebrates the role of trees in our lives and promotes tree

planting and care; and

Whereas, the City of Key West Tree Commission was established in 1971 by State legislation recognizing that

trees on public and private property are economic and aesthetic assets to the citizens if the city; and

Whereas, the City of Key West has been a member of Tree City USA for 4 years; and

Whereas, native trees conserve water and provide forage and shelter for wildlife and also improve the health

and beauty of the community; and

Whereas, the City of Key West is recognized as an important migratory bird route located in one of the four

major flyways. Native trees create a more sustainable environment that is not only beneficial to

wildlife but also easily maintained; and

Whereas, the philosophy of right tree, right place helps to ensure a future canopy of healthy trees; and

Whereas, the Tree Commission, the Urban Forester and the Community Services Department are responsible

for the planting of trees along the sidewalks and parks of the City. The Tree Commission has

encouraged the replacement of over 300 native trees by the citizens of the City; and

Whereas, the Urban Forester and the Community Services Department has this past year planted over 35 native

trees in sidewalk planters throughout the City. The City will be planting ten new trees in sidewalk

planters the last week of April in honor of Arbor Day

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Mayor Craig Cates, and the entire Key West City Commission do hereby proclaim April 29, 2016 as

ARBOR DAY

In the "Southernmost City of the Continental United States." And I urge all citizens to celebrate Arbor Day by planting a tree in their yard and to support efforts to protect our existing trees.

WITNESS our hand and seal of the City of Key West, Florida, this 16th day of March, 2016.

Jimmy Weekley, District I Commissioner	Craig Cates, Mayor
Richard Payne, District IV Commissioner	Billy Wardlow, District III Commissioner
Clayton Lopez, District VI Commissioner	Margaret Romero, District V Commissioner

Sam Kaufman, District II Commissioner