MAYOR FOUR YEAR TERM AND GENERAL CONCISENESS

6.01 - City commission election; runoff.

The election for city commissioners in districts I, III and VI shall be held on the State of Florida primary election date in 2016_shall serve a four-year term. The election for city commissioners in districts II, IV, and V₇ shall be held on the State of Florida primary election date in 2015 for a three-year term, and beginning in 2018 shall serve a four-year term. The mayor, chosen by voters <u>city widecitywide</u> shall be elected for a <u>one-yearfour-year</u> term on the State of Florida primary election date in 2022. 2013, and beginning in 2014 shall serve a two-year term. Elections shall be held biennially in accordance with the State of Florida primary election date thereafter. The name of any qualified elector of the city shall appear on the ballot as a candidate for the office of city commissioner upon said elector paying as a qualifying fee to the city a sum equal to five (5) percent of the annual salary of the office which said elector seeks, or by the elector qualifying by a petition process prescribed by State law and adopted in specific terms by city ordinance. The candidate qualifying and reporting periods shall be run in conjunction with the state schedule. A majority of votes cast in a particular district is required for a candidate to be elected. If no candidate receives such a majority, then a runoff election shall be held on the State of Florida General Election date following the first election between the two (2) candidates receiving the greatest number of votes. All ties in either election shall be decided by lot in the presence of the candidates concerned, under the direction of the city commission.