3:3 ideas 2024 Implementation

All sitting commissioners would complete their elected terms.

If approved by the electorate in August 2022, beginning in August 2024, the city will have three geographic districts of equal population represented by one commissioner from each of those districts and who must reside in that district, and three at-large commissioners who represent the voters throughout the city and can reside in any district.

The three geographic districts will be:

District I – Former District I and District VI

District II – Former District II and District V

District III – Former District III and District IV

Each of the above New Districts will have one District Commissioner elected by the residents of that geographic District. In addition, three Commissioners At-Large will be elected by the electorate as a whole.

Commissioners from District II, District IV and District V are up for election in August 2022.

Commissioners from Districts I, III and VI are midway through their term in 2022 but must vacate their seats due to term limits in August 2024 and cannot run again.

If the 3/3 redistricting is approved by voters in August 2022, the following occurs in August 2024:

In New District I, both incumbered seats expire in August 2024 after which both incumbents are termed out.

In the case of New District II, the seats from former District II and former District V will be occupied until 2026 resulting from the 2022 election. One seat would be

designated as New District II Commissioner, and the second seat would be a Commissioner At-Large. I suggest a coin toss determine who will serve as New District II Commissioner, and the other will serve as Commissioner At-Large until their terms expire.

In the case of New District III, one seat would be for Commissioner At-Large and the incumbent former District IV Commissioner elected to a 4-year term in 2022 would complete the term as Commissioner for New District III since he/she clearly fulfills the residency requirement for new district. A new At-Large Commissioner will be elected in August 2024. Alternatively, a coin toss could determine which position each incumbent moves into, and the election line-up below is adjusted accordingly.

AUGUST 2024 ELECTION LINE-UP:

Mayor, if 4-year term is not approved in 2022 Commissioner District I Commissioner At-Large Commissioner At-Large

AUGUST 2026 ELECTION LINE-UP:

Mayor Commissioner District II Commissioner District III Commissioner At-Large