

City of Key West, FL

Legislation Details (With Text)

| File #: | 21-7 | 7563 | Version: | 1 | Name: | | |
|----------------|--|-------------------|--------------|----------|---------------|---|--------|
| Туре: | Actio | on Items | | | Status: | Passed | |
| File created: | 9/2/2 | 2021 | | | In control: | City Charter and District Boundary F Committee | Review |
| On agenda: | 9/8/2 | 2021 | | | Final action: | 9/8/2021 | |
| Title: | Арр | II - Legislative: | | | | | |
| Sponsors: | (a) There shall be a city commission with all legislative powers of the city vested therein. The cit commission shall consist of seven (7) commissioners, six (6) of whom shall be elected from single member districts numbered I, II, III, IV, V and VI. The mayor shall be elected by the people at large for a term of two (2) years. Commissioners from districts numbered I, II, III, IV, V and VI. The mayor shall be elected by the people at large for a term of four (4) years. (b) No person shall serve more than a total of eight years in the position of mayor. No person shall serve more than a total of twelve years in the position of city commissioner. No previous term, of term in progress as of the effective date of this provision, shall be counted toward the limitations contained herein. If the term limit occurs during a term in office, the person holding the office may complete the term. | | | | | | |
| • | | /eekley | | | | | |
| Indexes: | | | | | | | |
| Code sections: | | | | | | | |
| Attachments: | | | | | | | |
| Date | Ver. | Action By | , | | Act | on | Result |
| 9/8/2021 | 1 | City Cha | rter and Dis | strict E | Boundary Ap | proved | Pass |

Review Committee

Approve following proposed changes to Article III - Legislative:

3.01 City commission and mayor; election, term; term limits.

- (a) There shall be a city commission with all legislative powers of the city vested therein. The city commission shall consist of seven (7) commissioners, six (6) of whom shall be elected from single member districts numbered I, II, III, IV, V and VI. The mayor shall be elected by the people at large for a term of two (2) years. Commissioners from districts numbered I, II, III, IV, V and VI shall be elected for a term of four (4) years.
- (b) No person shall serve more than a total of eight years in the position of mayor. No person shall serve more than a total of twelve years in the position of city commissioner. No previous term, or term in progress as of the effective date of this provision, shall be counted toward the limitations contained herein. If the term limit

occurs during a term in office, the person holding the office may complete the term.