

## **MEMORANDUM**

Date: May 9, 2024 City Commission Meeting

To: Honorable Mayor and Commissioners

From: Ronald Ramsingh, City Attorney

Subject: Resolution to Reappoint Cheri Smith to the General Employees' Retirement

Pension Board.

Sponsors: Commissioners Carey, Hoover, Kaufman, Lopez, Wardlow and Weekley

## **Background**:

The General Employees' Retirement Pension Board is a non-compensated board that currently consists of Alice Parker CPPT<sup>1</sup>, Christina Bervaldi CPPT, Angela Budde CPPT, Ben Gibson, and Cheri Smith CPPT (Chairperson). Cheri was appointed in 2014 and is in her 3<sup>rd</sup> term. Patti McLauchlin is the Fund Administrator. The Board holds quarterly meetings and is governed under Secs. 46-61 through 46-76. All members must live in Monroe County. One member is an active or retired member selected by the City Commission, 3 members are active employees selected by the general employees, and one member is selected by the 4 other trustees.

## **Options:**

- 1. Reappoint Cheri Smith to the General Employees' Retirement Pension Board for a 4<sup>th</sup> term
- 2. Elect to not reappoint Cheri Smith. Another active or retired member of the fund living in Monroe County would need to be identified.

## **Procurement**

This measure does not have any direct impact on procurement.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> CPPT refers to Certified Public Pension Trustee, a designation created by the Florida Public Pension Trustees Association (FPPTA). Individuals who complete the education track program receive the designation. Industry professionals recognize the CPPT designation. For a Trustee to maintain CPPT status, continuing education units (CEU) are required, and the Board supports Trustee education to maintain their designation.