RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, APPROVING THE ATTACHED SAFE-SCHOOL OFFICER AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE CITY OF KEY WEST AND SCHOOL BOARD OF MONROE COUNTY FLORIDA (MCSD) FOR THE SAFE-SCHOOL OFFICER PROGRAM AT KEY WEST HIGH SCHOOL (2), GERALD ADAMS ELEMENTARY, O'BRYANT HORACE SCHOOL, POINCIANA ELEMENTARY, SIGSBEE CHARTER SCHOOL AND ONE ROTATING POSITION FOR THE 2024-2025 SCHOOL YEAR, AND AT MAY SANDS MONTESSORI AND SOMERSET ISLAND AUTHORIZING THE CITY MANAGER TO EXECUTE NECESSARY DOCUMENTS UPON CONSENT OF THE CITY ATTORNEY; PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE

WHEREAS, the Florida Legislature passed a school safety bill in 2018 that mandates an officer in every public and charter school in Florida. To meet this mandate the Key West Police Department currently assigns school resource officers (SRO) at Key West High School (2), Gerald Adams Elementary, Horace O'Bryant, Poinciana Elementary, Sigsbee Charter School, and one rotating position, and school safety officers (SSO) at May Sands Montessori School and Somerset Island Prep; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1: That the attached Safe School Officer Agreement between the City of Key West and the School Board of Monroe County, Florida, which will assign SROs to each of the following schools: Key West High School (2), Gerald Adams Elementary, Horace O'Bryant School, Poinciana Elementary School, Sigsbee Charter School and one rotating position, along with SSOs at May Sands Montessori School and Somerset Island Prep for the 2024-2025 school year, is hereby ratified and approved.

Section 2: That the City Manager is authorized to execute the Agreement and any necessary related documents upon consent of the City Attorney.

Section 3: That this Resolution shall go into effect immediately upon its passage and adoption and authentication by the signature of the Presiding Officer and the Clerk of the Commission.

Passed and adopted by the City Commission at a meeting
held this, 2024.
Authenticated by the Presiding Officer and Clerk of the
Commission onday of, 2024.
Filed with the Clerk on, 2024.
Mayor Teri Johnston
Vice Mayor Sam Kaufman
Commissioner Lissette Carey
Commissioner Mary Lou Hoover
Commissioner Clayton Lopez
Commissioner Billy Wardlow
Commissioner Jimmy Weekley
TERI JOHNSTON, MAYOR ATTEST:
KERI O'BRIEN, CITY CLERK