RESOLUTION NO.____

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, ASKING THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE AND FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION TO HONOR THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF KEY WEST RESIDENT CHERYL H. CATES BY NAMING THE COW KEY CHANNEL BRIDGE ON U.S. 1, THE "CHERYL H. CATES MEMORIAL BRIDGE"; PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE

WHEREAS, Cheryl H. Cates moved to Key West as a child in 1955, and in 1971 she married Craig Cates, joining a family with a long legacy of public service to Key West and the Florida Keys; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl H. Cates' public and philanthropic activities have been far-ranging, including (but not limited to) membership on the Boards of Wesley House, Samuels House and Kids Come First; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl H. Cates elegantly built bridges between people and organizations to achieve community goals. She championed the cause of improving the lives of children, and worked for decades to enhance the quality of life for all in the City of Key West; and

WHEREAS, Cheryl H. Cates passed away on December 2, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the City Commission finds it would be fitting to name the Cow Key Bridge in honor of Cheryl H. Cates, to recognize the many contributions that she, and the Cates family, have made toward improving Key West and Monroe County; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1: That the Key West City Commission urges the Florida Legislature and Florida Department of Transportation to name the Cow Key Channel Bridge, which connects Key West to Stock Island on U.S. Highway 1, as the "Cheryl H. Cates Memorial Bridge."

Section 2: That the City Clerk is hereby authorized to transmit a certified copy of this Resolution to Governor Ron DeSantis, Florida Senate President Wilton Simpson, Speaker of the Florida House Chris Sprowls, Florida Department of Transportation Secretary Kevin Thibault, FDOT District 6 Secretary Stacy Miller, State Senator Ana Maria Rodriguez, State Representative James "Jim" Mooney, Jr., and Monroe County Mayor David Rice.

immediately upon its passage and adoption and authentication by
the signature of the Presiding Officer and the Clerk of the
Commission.
Passed and adopted by the City Commission at a meeting held
this, 2022.
Authenticated by the Presiding Officer and Clerk of the
Commission onday of, 2022.
Filed with the Clerk on, 2022.
Mayor Teri Johnston
Vice Mayor Sam Kaufman
Commissioner Gregory Davila
Commissioner Mary Lou Hoover
Commissioner Clayton Lopez
Commissioner Billy Wardlow
Commissioner Jimmy Weekley
TERI JOHNSTON, MAYOR
ATTEST:
CHERYL SMITH, CITY CLERK

Section 3: That this Resolution shall go into effect