

April 13, 2023

Key West City Commission:

Mayor Teri Johnston; Vice-Mayor Sam Kaufman; Commissioners Lissette Carey, Mary Lou Hoover, Clayton Lopez, Billy Wardlow, and Jimmy Weekley

cc: City Manager Albert Childress, City Clerk Cheri Smith, Assistant City Manager Todd Staughton

Re: Extension of Agreement between City and Rams Head LLC

Dear Mayor and Commissioners,

On behalf of Key West Literary Seminar's board of directors, I write today to extend our non-profit organization's enthusiastic support of the City Manager's recommended extension of the current agreement with Ram's Head for management of the Coffee Butler Amphitheater.

We've had the opportunity to work closely with Ram's Head during the past few years, in connection with producing our annual Seminar at the Amphitheater. They have always been responsive, helpful, and supportive and we feel they are excellent managers of this public asset. Ram's Head has successfully taken this venue from concept to working model and have gained considerable expertise into its usage by nonprofit organizations like ours as well as traveling musical acts. We feel their continued management will allow the venue to reach its best potential during the next three years.

We would also like to note the City's responsibility under the Agreement for the routine maintenance and repair of the venue. As you may be aware, there are deferred maintenance items and repairs which need attention from the City at this time. We also note the impressive list of proposed capital improvements included in the agenda attachments. We urge the City and Rams Head to work together with local, community-based nonprofit organizations to develop a plan for capital improvements which will improve this important community resource.

Thank you for considering our support in your determination,

to vasto 1

Arlo Haskell | Executive Director

717 Love Lane, Key West, Florida 33040 kwls.org | 305-293-9291 | mail@kwls.org

Executive Director

Arlo Haskell

Board of Directors

Michael Blades, Vice President Judy Blume Meg Cabot Leslie Concepcion, Treasurer Peyton Evans Lynn Kaufelt Nancy Klingener, President David McConnell Michael Nelson, Secretary Lori Reid Diane Shelby Carey Winfrey

Honorary Directors

Jimmy Buffett Ross Claiborne **Billy Collins** Cynthia Crossen Annie Dillard **Judith Gaddis** Dan Gerber James Gleick Mary Grusin Lynn Harding Mariane Lancaster Michael Mewshaw Thomas McGuane **Bob Muens** Jane O'Reilly Phyllis Rose Janice Stone Jean Trebbi Joy Williams

Founder

David A. Kaufelt (1939–2014)