RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, ADOPTING THE 2020 UPDATE OF THE LOCAL MITIGATION STRATEGY AS REQUIRED BY STATE AND FEDERAL REGULATIONS TO QUALIFY FOR CERTAIN MITIGATION GRANT FUNDING.

WHEREAS, the Key West City Commission adopted a Local Mitigation Strategy (LMS) in 1999, an update in 2005, and an update in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County and the cities of Key West, Key Colony Beach, Layton, Islamorada, and Marathon have experienced hurricanes and other natural hazard events that pose risks to public health and safety and which may cause serious property damage; and

WHEREAS, the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Management Act, as amended by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, requires local jurisdictions to adopt mitigation plans in order to be eligible for post-disaster and pre-disaster grants to implement certain mitigation projects; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Florida Administrative Code Section 27P-22, the County and municipalities must have a formal LMS Working Group and the LMS Working Group must review and update the LMS

every five years in order to maintain eligibility for mitigation grant programs; and

WHEREAS, the National Flood Insurance Reform Act of 1994, the Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004, as amended, require local jurisdictions to adopt a mitigation to be eligible for grants to implement certain flood mitigation projects; and

WHEREAS, the planning process required by the State of Florida and the Federal Emergency Management Agency offers the opportunity to consider natural hazards and risks and to identify mitigation actions to reduce future impacts of such hazards; and

WHEREAS, the State of Florida has provided federal mitigation funds to support the development of the Local Mitigation Strategy; and

WHEREAS, the 2020 Update of the Monroe County Local Mitigation Strategy was revised by the LMS Working Group composed of representatives of Monroe County, the cities of Key West, Key Colony Beach, Layton, Islamorada, and Marathon, and a number of nonprofit organizations have reviewed and updated the LMS; and

WHEREAS, the 2020 LMS Update identifies mitigation initiatives that will improve the process used to identify and manage mitigation initiatives intended to minimize and reduce safety threats and damage to private and public property; and

WHEREAS, the 2020 LMS Update was made available to the public and a public meeting was held on June 18, September 2, November 10, and November 25, 2020, to solicit questions and comments and to present the LMS; and

WHEREAS, the 2020 LMS Update was submitted to the Florida Division of Emergency Management and FEMA for review and minor revisions were made in response to comments; final approval by the State and FEMA will be issued after the LMS is adopted.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF KEY WEST, FLORIDA, that:

Section 1: The 2020 LMS Update is adopted as an official plan of the City of Key West, Florida, contingent upon approval by the State and FEMA.

Section 2: Any initiative identified in the 2020 LMS Update shall be subject to, and contingent upon, budget approval, if required, which shall be at the discretion of the City Commission of the City of Key West, and this resolution shall not be interpreted so as to mandate any such appropriations.

Section 3: The Monroe County Emergency Management Department is directed to coordinate with appropriate County departments and to perform the annual report requirements set forth in the Florida Administrative Code Chapter 27P-22.004.

<u>Section 4</u> : The Clerk is directed to mail copies of this
resolution to the Florida Division of Emergency Management and the
Federal Emergency Management Agency's Region IV Office.
Section 5 : That this Resolution shall go into effect
immediately upon its passage and adoption and authentication by
the signature of the presiding officer and Clerk of the Commission.
Passed and adopted by the City Commission at a meeting
held this day of, 2021.
Authenticated by the presiding officer and Clerk of the
Commission on, 2021.
Filed with the Clerk, 2021.
Mayor Teri Johnson
Vice Mayor Sam Kaufman
Commissioner Gregory Davila
Commissioner Mary Lou Hoover
Commissioner Clayton Lopez
Commissioner Billy Wardlow
Commissioner Jimmy Weekley
TERI JOHNSTON, MAYOR ATTEST:
CHERYL SMITH, CITY CLERK